Firewalla · Purple

Firewalla Purple SE

Firewalla Purple SE is a gateway without built-in Wi-Fi with a 1 Gbps internet port.

  • SQM
Manufacturer store price
$289.00 source
Re-checked
Data confidence
Medium

At a glance

Derived from the published specs below, not from hands-on testing.

Good fit for

  • Keeping latency low on a busy connection (Smart Queue Management)
  • Separating smart-home or guest devices with VLANs
  • Remote access over WireGuard VPN

Keep in mind

  • Internet port tops out at 1 Gbps; plans above that will be capped
  • With IDS/IPS on, the maker's figure is 500 Mbps
  • Paid add-ons: No fee for standard features; optional Firewalla MSP plans for multi-box management and longer history
  • Has no Wi-Fi; pair it with access points

Specifications

Firewalla Purple SE specifications
Basics
TypeGateway (no Wi-Fi)
Wi-Fi generationNone
BandsNone
Max channel widthNot published
Multi-Link Operation (MLO)Not applicable
Speed class (marketing)Not published
Ports
Internet / WAN-capable ports1× 1G
LAN ports1× 1G
USB ports1
Mesh
Mesh supportNo
Units in listed pack1
Features
Smart Queue Management (anti-bufferbloat)Yes
QoS / traffic prioritizationYes
User-configurable VLANsYes
Built-in VPN serverYes
WireGuardYes
Manage without a cloud accountNot published
Paid add-onsNo fee for standard features; optional Firewalla MSP plans for multi-box management and longer history
Claims
Coverage (manufacturer claim)Not published
Devices (manufacturer claim)Not published
Throughput (manufacturer claims)
Routing (no security features)Not published
With IDS/IPS on500 MbpsMaker's figure; test conditions not stated
WireGuard VPN220 MbpsMaker's figure; test conditions not stated
OpenVPN60 MbpsMaker's figure; test conditions not stated
Wi-Fi speed (maker's maximum)Not published
Status
Manufacturer price$289.00
Released2022
StatusCurrent model

"Not published" means the manufacturer doesn't document it; it doesn't mean the feature is missing. "Not checked yet" means we haven't looked for that figure yet. Coverage, device counts and throughput are the manufacturer's claims under the manufacturer's test conditions; RouterHaus hasn't measured them.

Sources and verification

Data confidence
Medium
Specs collected
October 20, 2026
Re-checked against manufacturer
October 20, 2026: partially verified
Not re-confirmed
internet port, LAN ports, USB, other details

Spot an error? Tell us and we'll recheck it against the manufacturer. Read how we collect specs.

Similar models

Is it right for your home?

Plan your whole network and see whether a setup built on it fits your home, plan and budget, with the reasons.

Your privacy choices

RouterHaus uses Google Analytics to understand which pages help people. We don't sell personal information. Advertising cookies are off.

Until you save a choice here, analytics cookies are off for visitors in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and on elsewhere. When they're off, Google may still receive cookieless pings without identifiers. Saving here applies your choice in this browser wherever you are.

Details are in our privacy policy.